Overwatch News

A Viewer’s Guide to Overwatch Contenders NA Playoffs

Written by admin


A Viewer’s Guide to Overwatch Contenders NA Playoffs

The final eight North American teams will fight it out today for a cut of $50,000 in prize money.

If the EU version of Overwatch Contenders is anything to go by, the Overwatch Contenders NA playoffs should be an epic clash between eight of the best NA teams around. NA’s bracket is a bit more high-stakes than it’s EU counterpart. Only the top six – not the top eight like in EU – will be advancing to Season 1, thanks to Team EnVyUs and Rogue having already qualified.

With that in mind, let’s take a look at what today has in store:

Schedule

Immortals vs FaZe Clan – 20:00 CEST / 2:00 PM EST

FaZe clan has quite the uphill battle in their quarterfinal matchup against Immortals, with the latter having an almost-perfect record and the second seed overall in the group stage, just behind LG Evil. FaZe struggled against all three other teams in its group, tying with each in a 2-2 score while Immortals only dropped four maps – not matches, maps – overall to put them on top of FNRGFE, Arc 6 (formerly Yikes!) and Tempo Storm. Whoever wins this matchup will play against the victor of LG Evil vs Kungarna in the semifinals.

LG Evil vs Kungarna – 20:00 CEST / 2:00 PM EST

LG Evil earned their spot at the top thanks to their destroying the rest of their group, handily winning in 3-1, 4-1 scorelines. Meanwhile, Kungarna barely made it past the Group Stages thanks to a sudden death tiebreaker round on Oasis to knock out Cloud9 and secure their spot in the playoffs but earn the bottom seed. Whoever wins this match will play against either Immortals or FaZe Clan in the semifinals.

5-Hour Energy Detroit Renegades vs FNRGFE – 21:00 CEST / 3:00 PM EST

Renegades had some trouble with Kungarna, but otherwise had an easy time grabbing the top spot in their group. FNRGFE saw some struggles against Immortals, but overall had a solid performance in their group stage matches. Whoever wins this match will move on to face either Team Liquid or EnVision in the next round.

Team Liquid vs EnVision eSports – 22:00 CEST / 4:00 PM EST

Team Liquid played very well in their matches, only tying with FaZe and CLG to make it to the top of their group. EnVision is certainly the underdog of the tournament, but proved that they could hang with the big guns thanks to wins against You Guys Get Paid? and Toronto eSports. Whoever wins this takes on either Renegades or FNRGFE in the semifinals, depending on who wins.

Semifinal #1 – 23:00 CEST / 5:00 PM EST

Semifinal #2 – 1:00 CEST (July 3) / 7:00 PM EST

Grand Final – 3:00 CEST (July 3) / 9:00 PM EST

Where to Watch

The official stream can be found on Overwatch Contender’s website as well as directly through their Twitch page

Peggy “yotobari288” Forde

Esports journalist for GosuGamers’ Overwatch and CS:GO sections. I sometimes film/edit things, too. Follow me on twitter: @yotobari288

Head on over to the original article here!

About the author

admin