Overwatch News

A Viewer’s Guide to Overwatch Contenders EU Playoffs

Written by admin


A Viewer’s Guide to Overwatch Contenders EU Playoffs

Everything you need to know about the playoffs happening in a few hours.

After hundreds of matches, over a thousand teams and countless ultimates used, Overwatch Contenders EU is finally coming to a close. The final eight teams are geared off for the playoffs, where one of them will walk away with $50,000 USD and the title of Champions.

Here’s everything you need to know before then.

Schedule

Quarterfinal 1: 123 vs Rest in Pyjamas – 16:00 CEST / 10:00 AM EST

The underdogs of the playoffs, 123 had a stellar record in the Group Stages, besting Movistar Riders, Alfa Squad and Cyclowns to take top spot in their group. Rest in Pyjamas – formerly Ninjas in Pyjamas – also had a very solid record coming out of the Group Stages, though they did struggle with GamersOrigin and Vivi’s Adventure. Whoever wins this matchup will face the winners of Misfits and Bazooka Puppiez in the semifinals.

Quarterfinal 2: Misfits vs Bazooka Puppiez – 16:00 CEST / 10:00 AM EST

Misfits tied with Laser Kittenz for an almost-flawless record coming out of the group stages, with only one loss to their name. Meanwhile, BPZ had some issues with the champions of their group, eUnited, and Team expert. The victor of this match will go on to face the winner of the 123 vs Rest in Pyjamas game in the semifinals.

Quarterfinal 3: eUnited vs Movistar Riders – 17:00 CEST / 11:00 AM EST

eUnited, along with 123, did not lose a match in the group stages, instead tying twice – once with Team expert and then again with Bazooka Puppiez. Movistar only dropped a match to 123, though, so don’t expect the Spanish team to be down for the count easily. The winner of this Quarterfinal will take on the winner of the Team Singularity vs Lazer Kittenz for their semifinal.

Quarterfinal 4: Team Singularity vs Lazer Kittenz – 18:00 CEST / 12:00 PM EST

Team Singularity was on fire during the Group Stages, with their only hiccup being a match against Rest in Pyjamas. Laser Kittenz, meanwhile, had the better record despite coming in second, thanks to their dropping one more match than Misfits to break the 5-0-1 overall tie. Whoever wins this will take on eUnited or Movistar Riders in the semi’s.

Semifinal #1 – 19:00 CEST / 1:00 PM EST

Semifinal #2 – 21:00 CEST / 3:00 PM EST

Grand Final – 23:00 CEST / 5:00 PM EST

Where to Watch

The official stream can be found on Overwatch Contender’s website as well as directly through their Twitch page

Peggy “yotobari288” Forde

Esports journalist for GosuGamers’ Overwatch and CS:GO sections. I sometimes film/edit things, too. Follow me on twitter: @yotobari288

Head on over to the original article here!

About the author

admin